The Best Of 69-74


Published 2024-06-09 06:00

In the late 1960's, Mick Fleetwood, Peter Green, John McVie and Jeremy Spencer laid the foundation for what would become one of the most storied and successful bands in rock history, Fleetwood Mac.

"The Best Of Fleetwood Mac 1969-1974" spans the prolific 5 year period that began in 1969 after the band signed with Reprise Records. Those 7 albums fueled Fleetwood Mac’s early popularity in the UK and catapulted them into the top 10 with singles like “Oh Well : Pt 1” and “The Green Manalishi (With The Two Prong Crown)”. Both tracks are included in the collection along with fan favorites like “Rattlesnake Shake”, “Station Man”, “Sentimental Lady”, “Spare Me A Little Of Your Love” and “Remember Me”.

Between 1969 and 1974, Fleetwood Mac experienced near constant changes in membership. The new compilation provides a showcase for each lineup, with songs featuring nearly every member from this era, including founders Fleetwood, Green, McVie, and Spencer, plus Christine McVie, Danny Kirwan, Bob Welch and Bob Weston.

James McNair’s new liner notes accompany the compilation and expertly navigate the band’s twisting timeline during this period. He writes, “By the time of Fleetwood Mac’s winter 1971 US tour, Christine McVie was a fully fledged member. Her keyboard playing and lead vocals alongside those of Kirwan and Spencer were integral in the wake of Green’s departure. Alas, any calm seas were short lived, Fleetwood Mac was still a volatile ship. Spencer, too, was about to go missing in action”.

Rhino Records, July 26th, 2024.