One Deep River


Published 2024-02-20 06:00

"One Deep River" offers an unstoppable flow of future Mark Knopfler classics, with their customarily learned lyrics and refined guitar textures. They draw on a lifetime of genre crossing ingredients and influences in blues, folk, rock and beyond, and as usual, reveal their charms with unhurried grace and depth.

"One Deep River" was produced by Knopfler and his longstanding collaborator Guy Fletcher, and was recorded at his state of the art British Grove Studios in London.

The band on "One Deep River" features Mark Knopfler on guitars, Jim Cox and Guy Fletcher on keyboards, Glenn Worf on bass, Ian Thomas on drums, Danny Cummings on percussion, Richard Bennett on guitar, and newcomer Greg Leisz on pedal and lap steel. Mike McGoldrick provides whistle and uilleann pipes, and John McCusker plays fiddle, while the Topolski sisters Emma and Tamsin add backing vocals. All songs are written by Mark Knopfler.

British Grove Records and EMI Music, April 12th, 2024.