a b c d e f g h i j k
l m n o p q r s t u-z

Larkin Poe

The Lovell Sisters, Rebecca & Megan Lovell, took America by storm playing at the Grand Ole Opry, Telluride and other top venues and festivals. Now still only 21 & 22 years of age they have launched themselves as Larkin Poe with 5 EP's and 1 live DVD in two years and performances with such stars as Elvis Costello, Richard Thompson and The Indigo Girls. During 2012 they played headline shows at festivals across Europe including standout shows at Beautiful Days, Celtic Connection, the Hebridean Celtic Festival and at Cropredy festival, where they broke the festival record for CD sales! As if that is not productive enough, they are credited for lending a hand to the albums of Blair Dunlop, Gilmore & Roberts, as well as the teenage pop favorites A Rocket To The Moon.

Now the girls present a full album, this time collaborating with multiple Norwegian "Spellemann" winner Thom Hell, and their special guest Sola Akingbola from the multi millon selling band Jamiroquai. The album was recorded in two periods over the two last years, at the studio "Ocean Sound" in Giske, Norway, the same studio Scottish band Travis just finished their upcoming album in. It started as a project to see what could come of a collaboration between Larkin Poe and Thom Hell, a Norwegian artist Larkin Poe had listened to and liked while touring Scandinavia. Luck brought the two bands together, as Thom attended the bands concert, and two visits to the studio later, 10 songs are presented on the album "The Sound Of The Ocean Sound".

Sola Akingbola, the man playing percussion in the multimillion selling UK band Jamiroquai heard a rough mix of the album after playing at the Nobel peace prize concert in Norway and was so eager to play on the record that he spent his 2 days off on his 2 months Jamiroquai tour to lay down some steady percussion work on the album.

The album, available on CD, LP and digital download, has 10 tracks, 6 signed by the sisters in Larkin Poe, 3 signed by Thom Hell, and 1 of the songs was co-written by Rebecca Lovell and Thom Hell in the studio. Masterpieces of pop songs with Larkin Poe's signature mandolin and dobro works, together with the strong voices and choir work of both Larkin Poe and Thom Hell. The album also have the strong musicians Daniel Kimbro on bass, Chad Melton on drums and Mike Seal on guitars, all musicians who have played in the Larkin Poe band up until recently. The Norwegian producer Audun Borrmann recorded and produced the album in close collaboration with Larkin Poe and Thom Hell.

The album is viewed as a project, and the band will only appear on stage together on a few selected concerts in 2013.

Visit Larkin Poe's website